Marriage License Laws in Arizona
To follow CDC recommendations for social distancing because of the global pandemic from the coronavirus COVID-19, some courthouses are requiring an appointment to get your marriage license in Arizona.
BOOK AN APPOINTMENT IN ADVANCE - you may schedule an appointment to apply for a marriage license at one of the 3 following Maricopa County Clerk of the Superior Court locations https://www.clerkofcourt.maricopa.gov/records/marriage-licenses-passports/marriage-licenses
-Downtown Customer Service Center, 601 West Jackson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85003
-Northeast Regional Court, 18380 North 40th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85032
-Northwest Regional Court, 14264 West Tierra Buena Lane, Surprise, AZ 85374
MARICOPA COUNTY MARRIAGE LICENSE BY MAIL - As a result of the coronavirus health emergency, and to encourage social distancing, Maricopa County is currently offering (subject to change) the ability to apply for a marriage license by mail https://www.clerkofcourt.maricopa.gov/records/marriage-licenses-passports/marriage-licenses
NOTE: MAIL OR E-MAIL SUBMISSION OPTIONS are available once you have followed instructions to complete the marriage license application and affidavit with valid identification for both applicants.
MARRIAGE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS FOR ARIZONA
- Effective August 3, 2018, if you are under 16 years old, you are prohibited from marrying.
- If you are at least 16 years old, yet under 18 years old, there are additional requirements on the Clerk of Court website.
- Both individuals must be present to apply for the marriage license.
- Each individual is required to provide a valid government issued photo ID (driver's license or passport) showing proof of age and confirming identity. NOTE: A Matricula Consular ID card is NOT an acceptable form of identification.
- Blood tests are not required.
- Marriage license must be issued prior to the ceremony taking place, signed after the ceremony (need 2 witnesses), and be returned by your officiant within 30 days after the ceremony for the license to be recorded.
- There is no waiting period, when you apply for the license you will receive the license the same day, and may be married immediately.
- Marriage license expires one year from the date of purchase.
- Copy of the divorce degree is not required.
- $83.00 (subject to change) payable by money order ONLY if you are applying at the Justice Courts, or cash or money order, debit card, or credit card (depending on your location choice.)
- Certified Copy of your marriage license is available for $37.50 (subject to change) payable at time of application, or $30.50 (subject to change) if you provide a business-size envelope, self-addressed stamped envelope at the time of application, after the bottom portion of the marriage license has been signed, returned, and recorded by your officiant.